The New York Chapter of the American Association for Public Opinion Research
P.O. Box 1076, FDR Station | New York, NY 10150 | Tel: 646.209.4961 |

If you are having trouble accessing information on this website, please contact for assistance.

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

President's Letter

Randal Ries

NYAAPOR President

Winter 2019

Dear NYAAPOR Members and Friends,


Happy Holidays and Looking Forward to an Exciting New Year!

I hope to see everyone at the NYAAPOR Holiday Party tomorrow (December 3), 6:00 pm at Ardesia Wine Bar on West 52nd Street.


We have several things to look forward to as we prepare for 2020.

Mark your calendars for Tuesday, January 23, for a topical discussion on vaccinations and public opinion with Dr. Stephan Kohlhoff, MD-PhD, Director, Pediatric Infectious Diseases at SUNY Downstate Medical Center and Dr. Gillian Steelfisher, Senior Research Scientist, Harvard School of Public Health

Ray Fink, Joy Sever and the Program Committee have already secured Humphrey Taylor of Harris Interactive and Kathleen Weldon of the Roper Center as speakers at our all day Meet the Masters workshop in February. This special workshop will be dedicated to the memory of Mickey Blum, Baruch College Director of Survey Research and past chapter President.

I would also appreciate your input regarding the annual NYAAPOR Harry O’Neil award in recognition of an individual’s or an organization’s commitment to our organization but also to the larger research community. Please email me directly ( or reach out at the holiday party with your suggestions of who we should honor. 


Best wishes,


Randal Ries

NYAAPOR President